A blog-post about me, YC

 Thought it might be about time the blog got a post that could double as a BIOG for me.

My first book, “Invitation to the Air” (poems) won the American Ireland Fund Award at Listowel Writers’ Week and was published by Italics Press in 1998. In 2002, I won an Irish Film Board Award for a feature-length filmscript. Included in the ground-breaking The New Irish Poets, ( Bloodaxe Books 2006), I also edited the best-selling new writing anthology “ALL GOOD THINGS BEGIN” in the same year. For the last 6 years I have been researching and writing “SHOWTOWN ” a non-fiction cultural and social history of Ireland’s last group of Traveling Show People), due out in 2013. Advance praise for “SHOWTOWN:” “Exciting and important” – British Fairground Archive.

Reviews of my writing to date include: “A gifted writer!” John Burnside “A world of atmosphere and filament”-Kerry Hardie

I have taught writing in Ireland for 20 years.

Reviews of my teaching:

“Writes beautifully and can pass on the skill” – IRISH TIMES.  “Helen Lucy Burke told me writing could not be taught. I replied that she had not yet met Yvonne Cullen” – DUBLINER MAGAZINE.

“The best thing I’ve ever signed up  for!”                                                                                                                                                                              (Recent Writing Train student)

“If it had not been for those Thursday nights, this one might never have happened!”   (Yvonne Cassidy, longtime WRITING TRAIN workshop participant, at the launch of her first novel, “The Other  Boy,” in  summer 2010)

“Life-changing!” ( participant on Aug. 2011 Inishbofin Jaunt)

“The purpose of her classes: to create in each student a healthier and happier relationship with their own creativity” – DUBLINER MAGAZINE

My other creative projects:

POETRY KITCHEN reading and music events, WRITE IN THE CITY cultural tourism and writing events, and a monthly Writers’ and listeners’ night called THE WRITING SALOON.

I am working on a new collection of poems,  a further book of creative non-fiction and a documentary. Current creative side-bars include singing and playing vintage and folk songs, running Writing Saloon creative Salons with a twist, and DJ-ing on the gramophone. So now you know who you’re dealing with, I’m looking forward to dealing with you!

Yvonne

This entry was posted in Courses, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

